Thriving on Inspiration in a World of Negativity

Listening to people’s stories–their real stories, the one’s containing all of the struggles and failures– inspires me beyond belief. We rarely ever truly know a person’s story. It’s not something that you can view from the outside, sometimes it’s buried deep inside. However, a person’s story attributes to each characteristic they possess. It doesn’t have to be an amazing accomplishment. Simply overcoming the negativity of the world and doing what you dream to do is courageous in my opinion.

Sometimes I don’t agree with or understand everyone’s life plans, but that’s okay. We all can’t understand each other’s goals, and if that were the case, we would all have the same goals and the world would be a boring place. I’ve learned to accept that I’m not going to understand people. As much as I try, it’s impossible. People are unpredictable and as much as we try to place logical explanations on human situations, it won’t work. There is no logical reasoning. We are human. We are living, breathing, flawed humans. Sometimes this is hard to accept because we want to plan everything out. I think that no matter what the circumstances or what someone’s dreams are, hearing their stories inspires me to reach my goals, in a weird way. We all know that anything worth having doesn’t come easy, but knowing that someone else has faced fears and rejection and still made it, makes me think it’s possible to do anything.

In the summer of 2013 I had the amazing experience of going on a mission trip with my church to Joplin, Missouri, where a tragic tornado had destroyed much of the city. At one point in the trip, our group worked on rebuilding a homeless shelter. Before we started the days work, we met with the other volunteers and people living in the homeless shelter. They explained their stories with such passion. They didn’t hesitate for one minute to share how God has worked in their life. They had gone through so much, more than I could ever imagine, and yet, they were so happy.Even though they had rough and depressing points in their life, somewhere along they way, they found their way to God and their view on life was completely changed. They haven’t achieved what many people view as “success”, but they had the most positive, Godly attitude for life I had ever witnessed. They could talk for hours sharing their story. They were completely at peace with their life even after enduring circumstances that would make most people begin to give up hope. Hearing their stories made a fire ignite inside myself that makes me think I can do anything. I remind myself, when I’m struggling with something, about the inspirational stories that I heard on that mission trip. It was an experience I will never forget.

There are so many times the world will tell you no. When the odds are stacked against us it’s difficult to find motivation to continue trying. When we feel like we aren’t making any progress, we feel like are dreams are too big and that maybe we should settle for something easier. Find inspiration in stories, because people have done it, they’ve made it. And you can too.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” -John 33:16

Sorry this post was kind of all over the place, that’s kind of how my mind works and it comes out in my writing.

Have a wonderful Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

