On Getting Through Bad Days

Bad days are inevitable. The sad part is that there really isn’t any way to prevent them. Sometimes you can see them coming, you’ve known that they were going to be bad months or weeks in advance. Other times something unexpected happens and suddenly makes a normal day turn into a bad day. Or sometimes a series of bad events, that might just seem like an inconvenience at first, accumulate and end up making a day take a turn for the worst. In any form, a bad day can make you lose motivation to continue with your normal routine. Bad days make you want to curl up in your bed and sleep, but most likely you won’t have time to take an impromptu nap. Personally, I think that if you find yourself having a bad day, but you know you have to continue on with your day, probably doing things you don’t want to do, you should make a mental (or literal) list of all the things you have to get done before the day is over. This will not only help you organize you thoughts so that they seem less overwhelming but it also gives you a spark of happiness each time you are able to cross something off f your list. This might not work for you but I find it rather effective because I organize my entire life with lists. As weird as it sounds, I love making lists. I think the reason behind my love for list making is because I feel like I’ve been productive if I’m able to cross things off my list.

All in all, bad days suck. On particularly rough days, I usually call or text one of my family members. It’s really important to have encouraging people in your life and I’m thankful for such a awesome family. Also, treat yourself. Starbucks coffee or Ben and Jerry’s ice cream are my personally favorites and they can work wonders on a bad day. Talk to or spend time with your best friends because that will get your mind off of everything that is making your day bad, even if it’s just for a few minutes.

I challenge you to think of how you’re blessed you are on your very worst days. It might be difficult because it might seem like everything is going wrong. But there is always something to be thankful for, even on the worst day of your life, even when something very bad has happened.

The bad days make the good days, or even just the average, okay days, better.

“God’s plans for your life far exceed the circumstances of your day.”

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

