Scatterbrained Thinking At Its Finest

How many of the things that we do in life are because of the influence of others? Like, if you think about it, some of the stuff we do is pretty ridiculous, but because everyone is doing it, then it’s normal. I began thinking about daily activities and how we do things everyday that don’t necessarily have a purpose but at some point in time, someone started doing something, other people liked it, and now everyone does it without even thinking about it. For example, who decides the style of clothing, or the fact that we do things like wear make-up or paint our nails. Who decided that girls look better with makeup? Who decided that tanning should be a thing? Who decided what sport were? It’s endless and It’s kind of a weird thought.

But then I started thinking about how much of my whole life is convinced. A lot of who I am was told to me by other people. I think that this is natural. We learn from others who have experienced more life than we have. But I think sometimes I let this happen too much and I neglect to form my own beliefs and opinions. I put a lot of value on the opinions of others. And I think it’s good to want to value and consider the opinions of the people you love. However, sometimes I put too much value on the opinion of people who don’t know anything about me. I let people like professors belittle my own abilities and I feel that I’m inadequate. My mind narrows and I begin to feel like my performance in a college-level class is the same as my performance in life and it really brings me down a lot of times (I don’t mean for that to be a horribly depressing thought, but it happens to everyone). It controls all my thoughts even though it really has no correlation to what kind of person I am. I think this is something everyone struggles with in many aspects of life. I admire the people that have the ability to push past other people’s opinions and not let it have any effect on their mindset, My goal is to be more like that. I think we should all try to be more like that.

Additional random side comment on this finally sunny Saturday: Today I had to work from 5-7 am and although it’s tough waking up, its totally worth being up that early. I feel so productive when I get my day started by 7 am. I was able to see the sun rise, clean my room, go on a bike ride, get breakfast at Starbucks and have time to write this blog and my roommates are still sleeping. It was just really nice to have a peaceful break after a extremely stressful week. My point of telling you this boring tidbit of my life is that some days you should wake up early, even if you don’t have to ( I also understand some days are meant for sleeping in). Anyway, enjoy this beautiful Saturday!

“There is no passion to be found in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.” – Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

